Stretch

Oh, you guys. This glute thing is getting old. I have had pain significant enough to interfere with activity and sleep every day for a month.  I saw the physical therapist on Tuesday (had to wait a few weeks for an appointment) and went away feeling pretty optimistic because a) it seems clear that there’s no involvement of spine, discs, SI band, or anything else back-related, and b) with diligent stretching and exercise and minimizing sitting, it should get better.  The unfortunate bit, he said, is that, done properly, the stretches hurt.  And they do.  And I have been doing them diligently, which means that I have added a stretch-ache to the intermittent nerve pain.  In which I haven’t yet seen an improvement.

I know five days is not really a lot and that I need to give it time.  I have moved the lectern in my classroom (which I hardly ever use when teaching, but do stand at to grade or use the projector PC) to the side of my desk and am doing most of my prep, email and grading standing up.

I did go to a regular yoga class today and was able to do just about everything. I lucked out, actually, in that today’s class happened to put a lot of focus on opening this whole area–which might be why I’m feeling a bit worse tonight.  Maybe things will feel better in the morning!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on November 24, 2015 at 10:26 pm

    A month is a long-old time! How miserable. I wonder whether acupuncture could help. I’ve never tried it, but I like the idea. Has anyone you’ve seen about the glute thing mentioned the possibility?

    Reply

  2. Oh dear, that is a long time to be dealing with pain. And having that kind of constant pain that interferes with movement is exhausting in itself. I’m glad that you can create a standing set up for your work at school (more than one of my colleagues has done this in their classrooms). I’ve never tried working standing up; how is it working out for you? I wonder if I’d be more efficient because I’d be more eager to get through with it, whereas sitting while I work means I just sit for longer if I’m inefficient.

    I hope that the yoga and the stretching help in the end!

    Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on November 30, 2015 at 4:18 am

      Thanks! I actually like grading standing up–I think I’m faster and more focused. Still working on the issue, but I think it’s getting better.

      Reply

  3. […] likely roadblocks–I really can’t think of any others right now unless you count the problem of sitting, and that is addressed by stretching and standing.  All right, here we go […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

