Baker’s dozen

So I just got an auto-emailed request for a recommendation for a former NLNRU student who’s applying to film schools.  This shouldn’t be a big deal, because last year I wrote her a very detailed rec that I can cannibalize, but it’s reminded me that I also have thirteen requests, so far, for college recs from SA students.  And that the college counselors have requested that we complete these recs by mid-October–which means about three weeks from now.  Oh dear.  Not quite sure how to fit those in, but I’m going to set a goal of writing four of them this week.  (Gulp.)

I have a couple other goals for this week, too–

  • Work on my second book manuscript.  I’ve decided it needs some reorganizing, and there are two end-of-September prize deadlines I’m determined to make.
  • Make two more brief visits to English classes, thereby continuing the observation process even though I don’t have time to start the formal evaluations yet.

There’s also a long to-do list, but pretty much everything on it has to get done this week, while these goals are things I might put off in favor of the more pressing items on the list.

Monday interim goals, then: 1) One college rec. 2) Half an hour on the second book ms.  3) A ten- or fifteen-minute visit to someone’s class.

Along with the usual stuff: teaching, grading, some work on the online class, taking the Snork Maiden to pick up her new glasses and to her saxophone lesson.  (I don’t think I updated on her jazz audition, by the way.  Her band teacher let her into the jazz ensemble as a clarinet player, but says she’s not ready to play sax in jazz yet.)

One response to this post.

  1. I have fourteen to write! And have I started? Er, no, I have not. Ours are also due mid-October, but I keep waiting until I’m caught up on grading to start. The problem being, of course, that I’m not caught up on grading and don’t anticipate being so for awhile. Sigh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

