Begin again

Oh hai.  I’m still here. Like my friend What Now?, I’m thinking it might be good to get back to blogging more; I could use the reflection time, since politics have me…reacting a lot..  Unlike WN?, however, I’m not on break yet.  Two more weeks to go.  And an exciting but inconvenient three-day professional-development-related absence right in the middle of those two weeks–so I’m spending quite a bit of this bleary Sunday after the Daylight Savings “spring forward” planning the next several days of grading, prepping, and sub plans.

Before I knew about the absence, I signed up to chaperone a concert right before it, which now seems fairly inconvenient but not quite worth trying to find someone to swap with.  So a fairly demanding week is going to end at about 9:30 PM on Friday, several hours too late, if you ask me.

Things in my small world are basically holding steady.  One small mercy seems to be that we might not need to hire this year, which, if true, probably gives me 30+ hours back this spring as compared to my previous springs as chair.  However, not needing to hire is predicated on the expectation that both of our colleagues on maternity leave–Dorothea, who had a baby in January, and Romola, who had one last week (a while in the making, not quite on the timeline she anticipated when I first mentioned the possibility)–return to school full-time in August.  Each says that’s her plan, but would we be shocked if a baby changed someone’s plans?  It certainly wouldn’t be the first time.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bardiac on March 13, 2017 at 12:57 pm

    I’m glad to see you back 🙂

    Reply

  2. Hi, MS! Good to have us both back to the world of blogging. If it helps, I’ve now spent part of the beginning of my spring break shoveling wet snow, which you probably won’t have to do in a couple of weeks when you’re on break.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

