Slow dance

I wonder how many of my posts here have been about school breaks.  Lots, I’m sure. During breaks I have more time for blogging and reflection, plus I remain obsessed with time and how to use it.

I have issues with winter break and spring break. I generally have grandiose plans and they are never fulfilled as my fantasies specify.

This winter break, we stayed close to home (well, except Stubb, who’s just left for an out-of-town gig).  The Snork Maiden dogsat. I didn’t read as much as I expected to, but I did read some.  I have been to seven yoga classes so far, an average of one every other day. One museum.  A few holiday parties, including an open house we held, and Hanukkah at my mom’s tonight.  Haircuts for the Snork Maiden and me.

The grandiose plans this time were mostly focused on “catching up” on school stuff, but “catching up” is a misleading phrase–it would be okay if it were just about the few piles of small assignments I didn’t get around to grading before the break, but in my imagination all sorts of things get attached that can’t actually be acted on when school isn’t in session–conversations, meetings, emails that I meant to have or do or send.  I should recognize that with the way my job is currently constituted, I’m unlikely to ever feel completely “caught up”–there’s always something else I could be thinking about. It’s one of the few things I miss about adjuncting–the sense of being done and off the clock at the end of a term.  (Even then, of course, there was a new term to be planned for–but in my memory my 2YC classes seem to have just repeated each quarter, with less new prep than there actually was.)

Anyway, today I am digging into some of that stuff so that I can bring my anxiety level down–for some reason it peaked in the predawn hours and I found myself lying awake fretting about some very small potatoes indeed.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bardiac on December 31, 2016 at 12:21 am

    It sounds like you don’t have much break left? But I think you’re on the mark to get something done; that always helps my anxiety!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Pym Fan on January 1, 2017 at 8:51 pm

    It’s amazing how a few small potatoes can really screw up a night’s sleep…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

