Summer world

Like What Now?, I’m starting to feel a bit summery.  It began today after school; I’d returned the last batch of papers to my sophomores, the building was quieter than usual, the usual stream of email had shrunk to a trickle.  A three-day weekend ahead, some tasks on the to-do list but nothing I absolutely had to take home with me.  We have review and the beginning of exams next week, and because of the AP classes, I will only give exams to two classes and have 31 tests to grade.  I’m sure I will falter when I first sit down with them, but really, that is not a lot of grading to do!

I got the summer-reading feeling first, the urge to plunge into a new book, with enough time to get absorbed in it.  I tucked a copy of Purple Hibiscus into my bag; I’ve been meaning to read it for years, ever since Elinor read it and declared it wonderful but too intense to assign to our tenth-graders.  I know that other schools have adopted it, though*, and SA itself is different than it was when Elinor was there; I’ll see what I think.

(*I believe Elinor actually teaches it at her current school; did I tell you, though, that she’s moving?  We were in touch because there was a slight possibility she’d come back to SA, but she and her husband really wanted the Pacific Northwest, and that’s where they’re going.)

The Snork Maiden and I had planned to go to the movies with FLS, but FLS wasn’t feeling up to it, which gave us a quiet evening at home.  I was fine with that as we have a fair bit of social stuff going on this weekend, the last one before Stubb leaves for his summer gig.  Definitely yoga–haven’t been this week. And Stubb and I will be away overnight Saturday to celebrate both our birthdays, which fall on either side of that departure.

So now to write a little, and then off to bed with a book!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bardiac on May 28, 2016 at 11:39 am

    Yay for summer coming in!

    Reply

  2. Purple Hibiscus is awesome, and we added it to our 10th-grade curriculum 3 or 4 years ago, to great success. I was worried that parts of it would be too intense, and I make a point of reminding them that we have counselors on campus, but it’s never been a problem to my knowledge. And I had them write a challenging but interesting essay about the ways in which the novel connects colonialism and domestic violence.

    Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on May 28, 2016 at 3:39 pm

      I thought I remembered that you teach it! I’m starting to feel that 10th needs some changes–every year the teachers talk about this, but nothing happens. Now that I’ve been teaching it for a year, I have a better sense of what the course could be, and more investment in developing it, so maybe next year will be the year it changes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

