The sense of an ending

I was thinking about how I get stressed by the approach of the end of the school year, and I was suddenly reminded of a half-remembered quotation from somewhere: “If I liked this, what about it would I like?”  (I think it’s the New Yorker art critic Peter Schjeldahl, but with just a brief search I can’t find the exact quotation and a proper attribution, only other people who seem to half-remember it the same way I do.) It’s a great question for art, and perhaps even better for life situations.  So, if I liked the last six weeks or so of the school year:

  • I would like the feeling of really having come to know the students pretty well, of having seven or eight months of shared experiences and struggles and jokes.
  • I would like seeing my new colleagues settling in and getting comfortable, looking forward to next year, finding a sense of ownership about their courses and their ways of doing things.
  • I would like coming to accept what’s not under my control, of realizing that some of the year’s goals won’t be met, that nothing was perfect, that a lot of things went right anyway.
  • I would like getting ready to bid farewell to colleagues who are leaving: some because they are going on to new adventures and I’m happy for them, and perhaps just one or two that I’ll be relieved not to have to deal with anymore.
3 responses to this post.

  1. “If I liked this, what about it would I like?” Oh my goodness, I love this question?

    Reply

    • That’s supposed to be an exclamation point, not a question mark, at the end!

      Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on May 11, 2016 at 4:24 am

      I found my source, although it’s not definitive: Lauren Winner’s book Still: Notes on a Mid-Faith Crisis. It is attributed to Peter Schjeldahl, though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

