The Wednesday wars

The second through fourth weeks of school were all four-day weeks because of Labor Day, Rosh Hashanah, and Yom Kippur.  I was actually looking forward to the relative normality of last week, even though it looked to be a busy one–and then I decided to take last Friday off in order to attend a conference planning meeting. So another four-day week, except four of my classes actually met and I had to plan and grade what they did in my absence.

I asked Ivanhoe for approval to use a personal day, and he pointed out that it could really be counted as a professional absence, which I greatly appreciate since I can hang onto those two personal days for future use.  I’m not sure how many of those we can accrue since I typically use both of them every year.  (We earn a sick day every month of the 10 we work, and can bank up to 20; I usually have 20 in the bank, knock wood.  And, of course, we get all the school holidays, so it’s not as though we’re short on holiday–it’s just flexibility we don’t have so much of.)

Anyway, this was the first five-day week since the beginning of school, and I have to say, it was actually a little bit less stressful than those four-day weeks.  I guess the volume of non-teaching stuff–meetings and discussions and other things like student conferences and writing recommendations–had to get compressed into four days and made those four-day weeks seem pretty crammed.

Still, it was plenty busy.  And those college recs are not getting done.  I’m setting myself the goal of four for this weekend–four finished drafts, anyway, even if I let them rest for a couple of days before revising and uploading them.  I do get PSAT Day off to write them, thank goodness, and will be trying to match my record of six letters.

 

One response to this post.

  1. Oh, I loved _The Wednesday Wars_! Not the point of this post, I know, but my heart leapt when I saw your title.

    And I know what you mean about the four-day weeks. It’s been an odd school year, calendrically, and we actually wind up with one week less than usual this fall term, which is putting the squeeze on us as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

