Reckoning

It’s Sunday, and one of my tasks is to look at my library record online and see what due dates are coming up and whether I need to try renewing some of these books.  Apparently I have 25 items out right now, a consequence of my habit of requesting books from other branches via computer and then going every week or so to pick up whatever’s arrived.

Due tomorrow and can’t be renewed: Roxane Gay’s Bad Feminist.  I’ve read maybe half of it, probably enough to let it go back and assume it will return to me sometime.  Definitely add to my list of books to recommend the SA library buy, if it hasn’t already.  I might read a little bit more today and tomorrow.  Also, Julie Schumacher’s Dear Committee Members.  I requested this after reading somewhere that it was really funny, but haven’t cracked it yet.  I suppose I should try today, since it is short and if it captivates me I can probably finish it in time to take it back.

Due tomorrow and ready to be returned:  Irvin Yalom’s Creatures of a Day: And Other Tales of Psychotherapy.  I have read several of Yalom’s books on psychotherapy and liked them all–this one is no exception.  Such a thoughtful, wise, open intelligence.

Due in four days and can’t be renewed: Two books from the “new and excessively desirable books” shelf, from which you can only borrow for a week: Kazuo Ishiguro’s The Buried Giant and Amy Poehler’s Yes Please.  I am just a few dozen pages into the Ishiguro and am finding it tender and lovely–I might have to buy this for myself.  The Poehler is a fun, fast read with some passages I plan to share with students next year.

Due in five days and can’t be renewed: Andrew Solomon’s The Noonday Demon: An Atlas of Depression.  I will probably not finish this book, but I’ll read around in it a little more.  There’s a lot of valuable information and narrative in it.  “Atlas” is right, though; it’s enormous and contains many views of a huge geography.

Everything else is either renewable, uninteresting enough to return, or due later.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Okay, thank you for this, because it just reminded me to renew my library books! (And I have the same habit of requesting books from other branches of the library and then finding that I have way too many piled up.)

    Reply

  2. […] the books in my previous library post, I did read Dear Committee Members–a quick read, a sourball of a book–it was enjoyable […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

