A view from the bridge

The Snork Maiden really only needed me to show her the bus route–when we got off at NCC, everyone else who’d gotten off at the same stop swarmed in the direction of campus, and she turned to me and said, “I think I can find it from here.”  I don’t think she quite grasps how big the campus is (it’s actually bigger in area than GU, our local state university, though it has less than half the enrollment), but I pointed out the building she needed to aim for and went back to catch the bus home.  Tomorrow she’ll take it herself both ways.

She liked the first day of class.  She was surprised the class was so big, although she couldn’t say how many people were in the room–I don’t know what the cap is, but when I taught comp there it was 36, and this is a language class, so it’s probably not much more.  Also, there were people hoping to add.  I wonder how much attrition there will be.

I peeked at the syllabus, which looks good, and clear, and firm.

I had four main tasks on my list for SA, and I got all of them done.  I know that in a couple of weeks I will start to miss teaching, but for now, it’s awfully nice not to have to worry about prep and grading and to be free of the tyranny of the schedule!

One response to this post.

  1. I am loving being free of the tyranny of a schedule! I’m very much a schedule sort of person, but that makes the days off from it even better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

