The unfortunate importance of beauty

I haven’t yet read Amanda Filipacchi’s new novel, The Unfortunate Importance of Beauty, but I am delighted by her NYT op-ed piece, “How to Pose Like a Man.”

The thing for poets, whether they have their photographs taken by Marion Ettlinger or not (a novelist friend of mine did, about ten years ago; as I recall, it was $1000 for a sitting then, which seems okay for a photo of unearthly luminosity–but the poets I know mostly don’t drop that on a photo shoot)–anyway, the thing for younger women poets seems to be tank tops or camisoles in author photos.  Bare arms and shoulders. They look “dreamy,” in Filipacchi’s word.  And sensitive.  Vulnerable.  Please read my book, please be nice to me.

I love the author photo with the article, by the way, and also the first one on the author’s bio page, a classic Ettlinger forearm/face pose.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on June 7, 2015 at 10:59 pm

    Wow, really interesting! Now I realize that the face/forearm shot I’ve seen of Ann Patchett must have been taken by Ettlinger too. Bare shoulders for female poets! SNORT!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

