Fever pitch

I am weak and a little tearful with relief to receive an email from Sebastian.  He isn’t going to pursue the other opportunity.  He said he had a sick feeling about the prospect of leaving and realized he didn’t have to.  I think perhaps he also feels that both of them at one school or the other could happen in the future, but it doesn’t have to happen right now.

He said that they sat down and made lists of pros and cons about both schools, and that I was at the top of both of their lists of pros for SA.  I think that is the part that made me cry.

I’d been feeling so sad all morning.  I went to yoga class and that helped, but at both the beginning and at the end, lying quietly on my mat, I acknowledged to myself how bad I felt about the prospect of Sebastian leaving and the Snork Maiden being so sad, and tears rolled out of my eyes and down the sides of my face and into my ears.

Now I can dry my eyes, and my ears, and go back to all the other end-of-year stuff.  Very, very glad.  I feel as if I’ve won a prize.  I think maybe I have.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Such good news! Sounds like things are working out best for both Sebastian and for you/the SA department/Snork Maiden.

    And isn’t it lovely that folks like Sebastian feel like they have real options and can decide what’s best for themselves and their families, rather than feeling trapped in a specific job/school? This is one of the things about independent schools vs. universities that I continue to feel so happy about.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Bardiac on May 3, 2015 at 3:26 am

    Good news indeed!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Pym Fan on May 3, 2015 at 3:36 am

    Whew! Do dry your ears.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

