Endgame

Here endeth spring break.  It was quite lovely, really, even though I didn’t write much.  I lived it.  I had two weeks with some relaxing and some maintenance-type stuff (taxes, car, glasses) and some work–for school and otherwise.  Speaking of work, have you seen this piece by the artist Carol Bove in Artspace?  It’s an excerpt from this book.  Bove talks about, among other things, deciding not to use the word work, but instead to name what she was choosing to do–and thereby let go of some cherished notions about the virtuousness of work and the division between work and leisure.  It’s a good piece, you should read it.

One great thing about this break has been being able to step up my physical activity.  I’ve run, done a bodyweight workout, or taken a yoga class twelve out of the sixteen days of break. And I’ve been feeling pretty good–until this morning in the shower, when I somehow managed to tweak my neck in an odd way and now it’s sore.  (I ran this morning and I think I needed to relax my shoulders more.)

I’m reducing–in the cooking sense–my to-do list, rewriting it for the week ahead.

I’m also cooking–preparing a chicken dish and a brisket for a seder we’re doing with Stubb’s family on Monday.  (We went to a cousin’s on the first night, Friday.)

This was last year’s post on going back after spring break, and this was the post in which I learned that we would be making one hire and suspected that it would be two (for a total of three, since we’d already hired Orlando).  Once again, contracts are due shortly, and there may be surprises in store–although I am pretty sure Dorothea isn’t going anywhere (not to this job, as it turned out), and I’ve had a number of pretty explicit conversations with people about their plans for next year.  Sebastian is going to take on a new role as a freshman advisor, but that won’t affect his deployment; Lucinda is pretty confident she wants a full-time contract, and this is good because Orsino will probably teach some freshman history again, leaving him three AP classes.

I’m looking forward to getting some enrollment numbers so that I can plan next year’s deployment, another thing I enjoy that Dr. Tea found aggravating.

I’m looking forward to seeing the students.

I have gone in and out of anxious end-of-break feelings today.  One minute I feel okay and then the next I am all worried about what I haven’t done yet.  I tell myself it is functionally just another Sunday night; I don’t have to have done all the grading of stuff turned in before break–I’ll get it back this week.  I don’t have to have gotten ahead; actually, looking at last year’s post, I realize I have done more planning through the end of the year than usual, and am in perfectly okay shape for this point in the school year.

I hope that both the Snork Maiden and I can get a good night’s sleep tonight!

Leave a Reply

