Illness as metaphor

I mentioned last May that Hilda van Gleck had decided to return to her hometown, where she is currently enjoying many snow days, and one of the younger history teachers had been chosen as her replacement as assistant head of the high school.  Let’s call him Domino.  (Why?  I don’t know.  Nothing sinister.  He just looks like a Domino.)  I stopped into his office to tell him something today and he visibly flinched, then explained, “I thought you were coming to ask for a sub.  We have eight teachers out tomorrow.”  So it’s definitely Farch.

Today, though, I taught four classes and I was pretty satisfied with all of them, which is not always the case.  I had a fun scene-writing activity planned for my juniors as we get ready to read a couple of plays (A Streetcar Named Desire and Death of a Salesman), and my seniors were analyzing Raskolnikov’s horse dream in Crime and Punishment.  I attended a lunchtime talk by a local playwright who is also coming to one of my classes tomorrow (and to one of Romola’s, which I will probably attend just for moral support), and I wrote an email to the parents of Dinah’s senior seminar about one of the books they are reading (we usually do this when a book with particularly “adult themes” comes up).

Morning carpool has been basically fine, although getting the Snork Maiden up early has been a chore.  It would probably be a kindness to her next year to take afternoon carpool duty instead.

3 responses to this post.

  1. So here’s where I confess that I didn’t enjoy teaching Crime and Punishment this year. I should also confess that it was my first time reading the novel, but while that combination — teaching it while reading it for the first time — can sometimes be exciting in a tight-rope sort of way, I just found it all rather tedious. I’m teaching the same AP Lit course next year and am seriously considering not teaching this novel, which will be very strange since the theme of the course is “crime and punishment”! Am I just doing it wrong? I’ll ask my current students for their feedback on the best and worst books at the end of the year before I make my decisions for next year.

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on February 22, 2015 at 6:06 pm

    I have been alternating between “WHY did we do this to ourselves?” and “OMG best book for seniors EVER.” Maybe we could talk about it sometime?

    Reply

  3. MS, I’d love to talk about it! Partly it’s just so darned long; I thought I was being clever by starting it before winter break and then having the students read Parts 4 and 5 over the break, but it still just seemed to last absolutely forever. The students and I all had trouble keeping our energy up through it. One thought I’ve had is to do it later in the year, because maybe our Adventure City winters are way too much to couple with the novel! (Although certainly it makes the misery of Siberia clearer.)

    How I wish we lived close enough to get together for conversation!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

