Arms and the man

Today was the one in the rotation when I have only one class.  Usually it’s a day when I can get a bunch of stuff done, but I feel like I never quite got into gear.  For one thing, I wasn’t at school for the first three hours–I dropped the Snork Maiden off and went to a doctor appointment.  I’d booked online through the HMO website and then got a bit confused about what, exactly, I’d booked.  The nurse told me it was in the computer as an appointment “for a Pap smear,” for which I was indeed due, and because that’s preventative care, I wasn’t charged a co-pay.  I think–it’s been a while since I made the appointment–that the reason I went online to book the appointment was that I wanted to talk with her about the thumb thing, which hasn’t quite resolved, and the online system helpfully suggested I needed a Pap smear, so whatever.  I got the Pap smear, had the thumb conversation, checked on a couple of other concerns.  I have to go back at some point soon to fill a prescription and get a blood test.

I still like the HMO, I have to say.  My doctor seems smart and competent–I like talking with her.  The nurses are brisk but kind, and also competent.  One of them noticed that I was overdue for a Tdap booster, so that got done, too.

Then I went to school and taught my one class, had lunch with Dr. Tea, did a little prep work in my classroom (this day also includes a free period when my room isn’t in use), and, feeling a little under the weather (maybe from the shot–my arm is sore, too), left earlier than usual with the Snork Maiden.  I’ve been home for about six hours, and all I’ve done is read, try to nap, have dinner, watch Jeopardy!, and surf the Web.  Okay, I also spent about half an hour reading about a grant I’m planning to apply for, and figuring out where to send book ms. #2 next.

Now I have to decide whether to go to bed and get up early, or make a push to get at least minimally prepared for tomorrow.  Or maybe some compromise between the two.  Stubb is out of town and returning late, so I guess I’ll check in with the Snork Maiden and see how close she is to turning in for the night.

I can’t lie on the left side because of the sore arm, and the right is awkward because of the wrist brace, which the doctor recommended I wear at night, so there might be a restless night ahead.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bardiac on January 27, 2015 at 2:21 pm

    Feel better quickly!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Pym Fan on January 27, 2015 at 3:30 pm

    Wrist brace AND sore arm! Ugh. At least the sore arm shouldn’t last long. I hope the doc was helpful on the subject of the thumb thing…

    Reply

  3. Yikes — I hope you can get some good sleep over the next few days! Also, your blog post title is amusing me very much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

