Intervals

This post is brought to you by the seven minutes or so between that particular finicky load of laundry being too damp to take out of the dryer and being ready to be taken out and hung or blocked to dry.

My Seinfeld chains broke down on day 17, and I’m restarting today.  What a simple but effective device for developing or reinforcing habits. The 15-minute minimum seems to work for me because I can generally find 15 minutes, even if I can’t find more:

  • Writing: I am back on track with the third-book project. I have drafted some new poems and revisited previous drafts of others.  I would not say that any of these is absolutely finished, but they are mostly moving in the right direction.
  • Exercise: Even the busy first week back at school, I managed to get in walks and rides on the stationary bike. Today I ran. This week should be even better because we’ll be getting home earlier–no rehearsals during exams.
  • Cleaning: Doing 15 minutes’ worth of small tasks gives me a break from other things and usually results in some visible improvement somewhere.

Tonight the Snork Maiden and I have a couple hours’ worth of our respective work to do, and we’re both a little stressed about exams–I because I have grading to finish up and she, of course, because of exams. But we should be able to go to bed at 10 and not have too much trouble getting up tomorrow.

Laundry’s ready; see you later.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bardiac on January 12, 2015 at 7:07 pm

    If I’m just redding up, I can get a whole lot done in 15 minutes; once I start in on vaccuuming or whatever, then it seems like 15 minutes isn’t enough.

    Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on January 13, 2015 at 5:08 am

      Yeah, these are small projects like clearing off a shelf in the kitchen and throwing away oatmeal dated 2012. Actual regular cleaning stuff is in a separate category in my brain (but it counts too; if I do that, I have done my cleaning time for the day).

      Reply

  2. […] while I’ve been pleased about staying connected with my current book project via a series of Seinfeld chains, I have been moving between poem drafts much more than I did in my first two book manuscripts. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

