The clock struck one

Much better overall, and mentally, doing a fairly good job of taming the school-starts-again-soon panic* that begins as soon as I wake up.  I think it’s worse because I’ve been staying up, and therefore waking up, much later than usual. I’m planning to go to bed at close to my normal school-year time the next three nights and, on Saturday and Sunday (and, of course, Monday), wake up closer to my normal school-year time (5:30 or 5:45, but I’ll probably aim for something like 7 on Saturday).

My Seinfeld chains are ten days long, and that feels great.

*Why panic? It’s not totally clear to me, honestly.  I like my job, and I’m not particularly behind in anything.  I think it might be a byproduct of the fantasy that two weeks of winter break is long enough to get ahead in everything–for example, this item on my list: “Create rough drafts of first-semester exams for the juniors and seniors.”  It’s a great idea, but it’s not going to get done this break, and it really doesn’t matter: I can do it when we’re back, and in fact it is a good task to do after school this week, when I have my room to myself and few interruptions.

I do wish we had exams before winter break.  I don’t really think this schedule serves anyone.  I suspect we are due for a reexamination of the high-school schedule sometime in the next couple of years anyway, so this might be on the table.  We’d probably have to start a week or two earlier in August, but that would put us more in line with the public schools and some of our independent peers, so it probably doesn’t matter much.  And we’d finish earlier in June.

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. We also have exams after winter break, and I also wonder how much longer that will be true. Our middle school does it before the break, and we get parent complaints every year that kids are spending their vacations stressing.

    Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on January 4, 2015 at 7:20 pm

      Yes, I don’t think there’s any way to avoid that problem and still have exams after break. I have a feeling we won’t do this much longer.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Bardiac on January 5, 2015 at 5:29 pm

    Would you have to start your school year earlier? Give up a break of some sort?

    We’re limited by law to starting after Labor Day, and we have to finish by Christmas, so that pretty much means we’re up against it. I’ve given exams on the 23rd, and then had to turn in grades by the 27th. That makes for a less than delightful “holiday” if one celebrates and actually gives finals (some folks don’t because they don’t want to grade that late, rather than for real pedagogical reasons).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

