Children of Dune

WordPress, would you please stop changing your interface.  Seriously.  I’m too tired to figure out that “New–>Post” is now “Publish–>Posts–>Add.”  This is a hobby, not a job.

Ooh, I think it just started raining.  We need rain, so that’s good.

I ate at 11:30, 2:15, 6:00 and 9:00.  I probably could have done without the 9:00, but there was some stress eating going on (leftover pizza from the provided dinner).

I don’t have a huge capacity for people having feelings at me, I guess.  I mean, I am pretty good with people I care about and am close to.  I am also good with students and their feelings because I remember what it was like to be that age and feel that way.  But the events of this week are leading a lot of people to tell me their ideas, and those ideas are coming wrapped in (or maybe stuffed with) a lot of feelings.  A lot.  I come home feeling permeated by other people’s feelings.  It’s unsettling.

I know I need to listen, and take notes, and not try to change their feelings.  That’s my goal for Friday.  Their feelings will pass over me and through me, and when they have gone, I will turn my inner eye to face their path.  Where the feelings have gone, there will be nothing.  Only I will remain.  

(Hat tip to Frank Herbert)

Meanwhile, somewhere in there I am still teaching. And the last rehearsal for the fall play was tonight.

Leave a Reply

