Dear committee members

This is the week our big committee thing goes public, to an extent–meetings and events and showing up to things on top of a regular week of teaching and the usual stuff.  Social interaction out the wazoo.  (“Sorry I Murdered Everyone, I’m an Introvert.“)  It’s also tech week on the fall play, which adds complexity in some ways, but is also quite convenient, in that the Snork Maiden and I will probably be done at about the same time most nights.

I anticipate that I will get home overstimulated, possibly cranky, possibly hungry or just snacky.  I think I’d better take a few more groceries in to school–it’s very likely that I’ll eat all of my meals there three or four days a week, and the food service closes at 3:30. There will be some food at some of these events, but only one proper sit-down meal that I know of.  The Snork Maiden should be better off, as we sprung for the “meal plan” the school offers for the theater kids–for $10 a night, Monday through Thursday, they provide dinner at the dinner break.

I should also build in time for writing and exercise, to keep myself as centered as possible.  I’ve let both those things slump in the last couple of weeks–well, I have stepped up the gentle exercise a bit, but I’m still having to be careful with the strained muscle.  I did write yesterday.  I also spent a few hours at SA while the Snork Maiden had rehearsal and got some things ready for the week ahead.

At your institution, when an outside speaker or observer comes, do you find that the people most likely to show up to things and make questions or comments are the outliers–either the most functional people or the weirdest, most disaffected, or most likely to grasp the wrong end of the stick?

I feel very close to the other committee members right now, in a you-and-me-against-the-world kind of way.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Yikes — I hope that the week goes as well as can be expected! Will you get some chances for hard-core introverted refueling over Thanksgiving at least?

    Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on November 17, 2014 at 2:30 am

      It’s in my plans! I am actually thinking about leaving school after lunch on Wednesday (I will be finished with teaching and a lunch meeting of a student group) and just taking the rest of the day off. I think it would be an investment in health.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Bardiac on November 16, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    Absolutely! The functional folks ask helpful questions, while the folks on the other side use question time as an opportunity for a manifesto on their latest issue.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

