Wash and dry

Saturday night is laundry night.  Okay, not always.  Tonight it’s half-the-laundry night.

I have plenty of work to do, but I took today off from schoolwork.  I worked out, got an oil change, ferried the Snork Maiden and a few friends to a social event, and was fairly aimless while they were being social–I had lunch, went to the drugstore, wrote a note to a friend, made a couple of phone calls.  I was in a relatively unfamiliar neighborhood and hadn’t bothered to figure out whether there was anything really interesting I wanted to do there.  I had figured out that there was a library branch close by, but I didn’t end up going there to work (or read).  I went to our local branch later in the day, though, because I had holds to pick up.

I don’t think I’ve mentioned that I haven’t been running or, indeed, doing any regular exercise since about early August because I’d strained something in my rear or hip (it was hard to tell where the pain was originating).  Some days it was just a twinge, some days it was so painful that I had trouble sleeping.  Finally took myself to the doctor and got a fancy-sounding diagnosis, a week of anti-inflammatory meds, and instructions on stretching.  It’s much better now, and I am starting to exercise again, gently.  I’m excited to be getting the mood boost of exercise again.  I’m planning to take a walk and run a little on Sunday.  Have to be careful here, because if I overdo it, my butt will let me know.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Sorry to hear about the pain. Has one compensation been getting to make plenty of “pain in the butt” jokes? Anyway, glad to hear that it’s getting better.

    And good for you for taking a day off work! That’s my plan for today — much work to do, and yet I’m so knackered that I clearly need time off.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Pym Fan on October 27, 2014 at 4:35 am

    Your fancy-sounding diagnosis is rather daunting, but if the meds and stretching have helped, then hooray! I’m glad you saw someone about it. And I second the good-for-you for taking the day off work!

    Reply

  3. […] which was fun despite a back/butt pain problem that might have been the first appearance of the butt problem I’ve had more recently. It turned out that we did, in fact, go away over winter break four […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

