Night shift

So I’m on this committee that is charged with making certain recommendations that will affect the future of the school.  Sorry to be so vague, but you know.  In no particular order, here are some of the observations I have made so far:

  1. I’m honored to be on this committee, proud to have been chosen for it.  As soon as I heard about it, I thought, “They should put me on that,” and it was a happy surprise when they actually did.  Or not a total surprise, because I did think I should be on it, not just that I would like to.  But great.
  2. It takes a lot of time.  And it doesn’t even have to take that much time to feel like a lot of time.  Of late, it’s been three to six hours a week of meetings, plus another couple of hours communicating and planning.  That doesn’t sound like much to me, but it’s got to come from somewhere.
  3. It’s a really good committee.  People bring different perspectives–faculty, staff, alumni, trustees–and they are good at listening to one another.
  4. At the same time, we have what are to me surprisingly large areas of agreement about what matters, though not necessarily about the exact order of priorities.
  5. Except for a young alum, everyone on the committee is, in addition to other roles, a parent of one or more current or past SA students, which gives a sense about how much parents’ views are being considered. (There’s just one person who is there as “a parent”–someone who has had a leadership role in the parents’ association.)
  6. I’m getting to know better some people I had previously known just in passing, including the parents of some past students and an elementary-grades teacher I didn’t know at all (although I knew this teacher’s children by sight when they were SA students).
  7. Big chunks of what we are doing are confidential, because we’re talking to people who are willing to talk with us only because we promise confidentiality.  This is difficult sometimes, because I have not only thoughts but also feelings about these conversations.  This is partly why #6 is happening.  Aside from the sheer volume of contact, there’s definitely some bonding going on.
  8. Because of #7, there are going to be situations in which we’re not going to be able to explain the committee’s decisions to the community without violating confidentiality.  So we won’t be able to explain some things.  I know I’m not going to enjoy this, but I’ll be able to deal with it.
  9. In some important parts, though, we will able to be pretty direct. People will be giving us feedback, too. I’m looking forward to that.  (I think.)
One response to this post.

  1. […] is the week our big committee thing goes public, to an extent–meetings and events and showing up to things on top of a regular […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

