Home again

I really liked Robin Williams and I’m sorry that he’s gone.

I think I need to take a break from Facebook, though, because all the Dead Poets Society homage is making me taste bile.

(There are two kinds of high school English teachers, and one of them LOVES Dead Poets Society.  I am the other kind.)

It’s good to be home.  Everything went fine–music camp, conference, Chicago.  I visited the Poetry Foundation for the first time and had a happy time browsing in the library.  Encountered some poetry books that meant something to me at one time or another.  (Never noticed, when borrowing Phyllis McGinley’s Times Three from my high school library, that Auden wrote the introduction.)

My return to school begins tomorrow, but there are still almost two weeks before classes start.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bardiac on August 12, 2014 at 3:05 am

    I bet there’s a generational thing? My friends are mostly talking about his standup or Mork and Mindy stuff. His stand up work was amazing. Just a couple years may be enough?

    Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on August 12, 2014 at 3:12 am

      I loved Mork and Mindy. And the standup too, of course. Yes, it might be the slightly younger folks in my feed. My thirtyish teacher colleagues. Some of them.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Bardiac on August 13, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    I was thinking, after I posted that, that it might also be that you know more HS teachers than I do? My younger faculty colleagues haven’t said anything about his death at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

