Empty mansions

Still in the week of reading deprivation, I’ve been pretty cheerful so far for someone who isn’t allowed to do something that she loves to do.  The first night was hard at bedtime.  I’m so used to winding down with a book.  Even in the middle of the school year, when I might not have a book going, I always have books to reread beside the bed.  It took a long time to fall asleep that night, and I had vivid, strange dreams.

I’m so glad that I decluttered for a week before starting the reading deprivation, because I can actually sit at ease in my bedroom or in the front room of the house without feeling stressed out by the clutter.  Right now, I’m sitting in the TV area–which is also fairly tidy, thanks to the Snork Maiden–watching the Major League Baseball All-Star game.  Normally I never turn on the TV just to relax or for something to do, but I’ve done it a couple of times so far.  I watched Jeopardy! yesterday, inspired in part by our trivia experiences.

What else?  I have continued doing the things I’ve been doing this summer–exercise, professional stuff, school stuff.  I haven’t written more the last couple of days.  I’ve been somewhat more present for Stubb and the Snork Maiden, I think–less absent/abstracted.  I have slipped a few times–just a quick article here or checking a favorite blog there–but only briefly.  I do feel more present in my life, aware that I have not turned over part of my attention to a parallel universe.  Not just mentally more aware, but physically as well.

 

Leave a Reply

