Brains

Mine are not working so well right now, somehow.  This has been a weekend of a lot of sleeping, with occasional bursts of activity followed by more sleeping.  None of the activity has been work-related yet–we showed up for a friend’s fundraising “fun run” thing, and we went with my sister, niece, and nephew to the farmer’s market.  (Oh, and speaking of the “fun run,” I did do that 5K I mentioned, and it was fun, and I even logged a respectable time.)  This evening, the Snork Maiden and Stubb are out at a rehearsal for a performing arts event he’s involved with and for which she is going to volunteer her technical skills.  It mostly gets going after school is out, but tonight she’ll meet some of the people and find out more about what she’ll be doing.

Why so much sleeping?  Maybe partly because the school days remain fairly intense and I continue to have difficulty getting enough sleep during the week.  Maybe partly because I get a little depressed at the end of the school year.  It’s not that I’m not excited for the time off, it’s that no matter how you look at it, it’s an ending.  I hate that feeling of the clock running out and whatever you have or haven’t done, it’s too late to change it now.  Do you get that, too?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Right there with you–I’ve been going to sleep early every night and still waking up tired. Onward!

    Reply

  2. I took a 2.5-hour nap on Saturday and still dragged for much of the weekend!

    I often do get that slightly depressed feeling at the end of the year that there are things I tried to do with my students and didn’t achieve … but this year feels different. In part it’s that it was such a rocky year at the beginning with the whole FGS History book project that it feels good to get the year over. Also, I only had three major courses this year, and two of them were on the small side of enrollment, so I actually feel like I did a better job than usual in accomplishing my teaching goals, which feels good.

    Reply

  3. Posted by meansomething on May 20, 2014 at 12:10 am

    Ah, I wish I could say the same! I have fewer students than usual but feel I am doing a slightly worse job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

