Day off

I’ve decided that I’m having a day off until 7:30 P.M., when I will have picked up the Snork Maiden from Bestfriend’s house and we will have returned home.  At that point, she needs to do a little more homework, and I’ll put in some time on the awful backlog of grading that has piled up while I’ve been doing everything but.  (I promised myself four hours of grading this weekend, even if I have to do it in twenty-minute chunks.)

I slept over at my mother’s house last night because I had offered to take care of the dog while she was out of town overnight and it seemed easier than bringing the dog to our house.  It was great: fifteen hours of utter silence after a week that included lengthy conversations, both in person and over email, with practically everyone I ever talk with, plus two job candidates, one Wednesday and one Friday.  It’s not even that Stubb and the Snork Maiden are that noisy, really, but it was great to be alone for a while.

We made a hire for the high-school position that will be mostly tenth grade, and I’m pleased because it seems like a good fit and people were enthusiastic.  We’re still working on the sixth-grade one, and I’m also still figuring out how much part-time coverage we might need in addition to these two hires.  I have a kind of dream scenario in which we hire one of the sixth-grade candidates to the sixth-grade position and hire the other one to teach a couple of eighth-grade English classes and fill out the rest of her schedule with middle school history.  One of the first things I need to do on Monday is get Eveline (who met this candidate and liked her) on board with this plan.  I’m not sure the GGE will go for it, but it’s worth a try.

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on May 12, 2014 at 3:54 am

    Whew! As usual, just READING about your life makes me tired. Congrats on the hiring progress. And on the 15 hours of solitude/quiet, which sounds so lovely…

    Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on May 12, 2014 at 1:00 pm

      I think if you wrote down all the stuff you did in a day, you would make me tired too. I just have more people circulating through it (and annoying me).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

