The worm in the bud

As a rule, I don’t mind getting up early to grade or prep (or write or exercise, for that matter).  The hour between five and six is often a very productive time.  Today–starting at 4:15–I managed to do my Morning Pages, some grading and some planning, and now I am going to run the dryer and work for another twenty minutes, then shower and wash my hair, then get the Snork Maiden up.  So it isn’t the early rising I mind.  What I mind is when I’m sitting in the lovely silence of the very early morning and slowly become aware of the earworm playing in my head.  (It happens to be that One Direction song “What Makes You Beautiful,” if you must know.  You’re welcome!)

And the Snork Maiden has become interested in country music (Lady Antebellum and Florida Georgia Line are two favorites), which is not my favorite genre.  At least she is having the normative teenage experience of liking music that drives your parents crazy.  (Or parent, in this case, since Stubb is perfectly okay with listening to country music.)

I really wanted to listen to music in my room during the last period of the day yesterday–I had a free prep period in my room and I was having trouble settling down to much of anything–so I put on one of the few CDs I have in the classroom (Earth and Sun and Moon, a Midnight Oil release from the ’90s), but I worried that even playing softly, the low thumping bass might be audible in Akela’s classroom next door, so I turned it off.  It only now occurs to me that I had a pair of headphones in my bag and could have tethered myself to my desk…

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on March 15, 2014 at 8:53 pm

    Argh, earworms! The other day Mr. Fan played me a hilarious video of “Rock the Casbah” in which the lyrics (in distorted form) appeared on the screen as the song played: “Charleeeene’s on lightning. ROCK the cash bar! ROCK the cash bar!” It was great, but then the damn song was stuck in my head for DAYS. (My favorite line: “The jet fighters tune to the Catholic radio bear.”)

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on March 15, 2014 at 8:54 pm

    Now I have a NEW earworm! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

