The coast of utopia

Gamma is back!  And I am renaming her Lucinda.  The beginning of this week was so busy that I barely noticed I had dropped two classes, but it’s definitely starting to sink in now.  I feel as though I’m almost caught up on many things.

So, of course, it seems like a great time to do NaNoWriMo.

Seriously.  I’ve never really been tempted before, but what really attracts me this time is the immersion of it–the way I’ll be thinking about my novel-draft-in-progress all the time.  This is something I find very hard to sustain with poems during the school year, but the enormous expectation of 1667 words per day will keep my attention.

I don’t even WANT to write a novel.  What I want is to be thinking about writing all the time.

And I want to wrench a big chunk of my time back from a) work, and b) surfing the Internet.  I do a lot of reading on the Internet at night–fun things and long things like Paris Review interviews and features from the archives of The New Yorker–but an awful lot of time disappears down that rabbit hole.  I think I can afford the time it will take to write a messy novel draft.

Frankly, I’d also like to read a messy novel draft written by me.  Who knows what story I might have to tell!

I kind of know what the story is, actually.  No outline; I’m just floundering forward.  The thing is to keep floundering.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I’m doing the logging equivalent for the same reason–to put writing back into the center of my life again and see what emerges.

    Reply

  2. I’m so impressed that you’re doing this! Although the timing does seem perfect for you, what with Gamma/Lucinda back and a new term starting. Good luck!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Bardiac on November 2, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    Yay! I bet you’ll find the first several weeks seem really easy!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Pym Fan on November 3, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    Wow, MS! A lesser person might take advantage of Lucinda’s return to, I don’t know, get more SLEEP?! But I’m thrilled that you’re going to write a messy novel draft instead. (You already know the story, eh? I’m very curious…) Here’s to floundering!

    Reply

  5. […] let’s review.  I said (here and here)  that what I wanted […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

