The pastures of heaven

A day at school without classes.  Heavenly.  Three hours of PSAT this morning, during which Dr. Tea and I sat side-by-side at computers in the workroom and pegged away at college recs.  I wrote five in the morning, one in the afternoon, so I didn’t quite meet my goal of seven, but come on–six!  I also opened files for the ones I hadn’t yet begun and completed the Common App teacher evaluation in Naviance for each of those, so now I have at least something under way for each of my remaining eight recs, seven of which are supposed to be completed by Monday.  (Monday is one of my lighter teaching days, so I might leave one or two to complete then, and try to write five or six over the next four days, which seems doable.)

When I got back into my room (and fussily pushed desks back into my preferred three-sides-of-the-room arrangement and brushed the crumbs off my desk and adjusted the temperature), I wrote up an activity on Shakespeare’s Sonnet 56 (“Sweet love, renew thy force”) for my AP Lit kids for tomorrow–falling in love with the poem in the process–and graded a few papers, and took a walk with Dr. Tea, and answered some email, and wrote that one more recommendation and bits of others.  I still have a lot of items on my to-do list, but it felt like a really productive day.

And Thursday happens to be one of my lighter teaching days, so I should be able to keep cranking on the grading (AP Lit first, then Gamma’s AP Lang) and squeeze out one more rec without too much angst.  Of course, I also need to do some significant prep for Friday, which is one of the tough days.  But only a few more of those left until Gamma comes back!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bardiac on October 17, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    Progress! Writing six letters in one day is pretty darned fantastic, to be honest. Good work!

    When do you go back to a more normal schedule?

    Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on October 22, 2013 at 4:37 am

      Next week (the one with Halloween in it). Seven more days–by the end of the Monday, I should have all my comments finished. But hey, who’s counting?

      Reply

  2. Seriously, I’m amazed that you wrote six letters in one day. I couldn’t get past three in one day. I finally had to ask for an extension on our 10/15 deadline, which wasn’t a big deal because I knew that it’s a fake deadline just to make sure that everything is actually in for the real deadline, but still, I’ve never had to do that before. But I’ve also never had to write 15 letters while also doing department chair stuff. And I so feel for you with the 20 letters and not only department chair stuff but also teaching Gamma’s classes — go, you! Hang in there.

    Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on October 22, 2013 at 4:38 am

      Our deadline’s a fake deadline, too, just a little later than yours. Thanks for your sympathy–it helps!

      Reply

  3. […] them.  I do get PSAT Day off to write them, thank goodness, and will be trying to match my record of six […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

