Updates

I uploaded three college recs today.  Yay me.  I also agreed to write for one more student, so that leaves eighteen to go.

I’m wondering at what point in the Snork Maiden’s high school career I have to stop forcing her to go to bed at a decent hour.  She really does better on between eight and nine hours of sleep, and it’s hard to get her up in the morning when she gets more like seven to eight.  She’s almost fourteen and a freshman, so I think it’s still okay for me to be enforcing a nine-thirty or ten P.M. bedtime (she usually gets up around six, and we leave the house either at six-thirty, on jazz mornings, or seven, on regular mornings).  But she’s already complaining that she needs to stay up later to work on this or that, and I definitely see teenage circadian rhythms kicking in, with the alertness in the evening and the sleepiness in the morning and so on.

It isn’t that she has so much work that she has to stay up really late just to get it all done; she usually gets in some homework time at the end of the school day (because she did, in fact, end up leaving herself no free periods) and then has play rehearsal three afternoons a week.  She wants some down time when she gets home, and usually takes a while to get back on track with the homework–or maybe there’s a TV show she wants to watch and she’ll try to get it done in time for that.

Interesting to watch all this from the parental side.  And once again, I’m so glad not to be teaching nights at NLNRU so that I can watch it unfold and give her the support from the sidelines.

Speaking of sidelines, Friday is our homecoming game, and I’ll be attending for the first time.  The Snork Maiden is playing with the band.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on October 11, 2013 at 3:38 am

    Yike, flashbacks to high school, which is when I started drinking coffee–late at night–so that I could keep going on the schoolwork (I was a tremendous nerd). It’s amazing my brain survived all that sleep deprivation. You should definitely enforce that bedtime!

    Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on October 12, 2013 at 5:56 pm

      I’m trying! I realize, though, that a piece of the puzzle is that they really do start to want/need to be alert late into the evening. But they’ve got to get up so early!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

