The list

A new milestone in my life at SA: I am excused from proctoring the PSAT or chaperoning any of the other special activities that are going on at school next Wednesday because of the number of college recs I have agreed to write (20, 19 of which need to be completed by October 21 for November 1 deadlines).  This is both wonderful (a whole school day with no other responsibilities) and terrifying (oh my gosh, the college counselors–who assign the proctors– must think I am totally screwed).

Three more weeks until Gamma comes back.  One more paper from each of my students in each of my five classes, those twenty college recs, and a quarter grade and report-card comment for each of those students.  I think it’s going to take more than next Wednesday.

 

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bardiac on October 9, 2013 at 12:43 pm

    EEP! That’s a whole lot of writing and grading! Is Stubb providing chocolate?

    Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on October 10, 2013 at 4:53 am

      Stubb is in…Michigan this week, I think? Yes, definitely Michigan. But I’ve stocked up on chocolate for myself and the Snork Maiden.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Bardiac on October 10, 2013 at 5:19 am

    Hey, Stubb can wave over the Midwest as he flies around!

    Reply

  3. I’ve had 15 to write and have done all of two. And they are all due on Oct. 15. So my long weekend is pretty much entirely writing college recs and grading. Ah well — I think I’m going to feel such an enormous relief when those recs are off of my shoulders! Best of luck to you in getting all of yours written.

    Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on October 12, 2013 at 5:57 pm

      Is the Oct. 15 deadline so that they are done two weeks before the Nov. 1 deadlines? Because that’s what they’re doing with us here–Oct. 21 for a Nov. 1 deadline, which almost everyone has.

      Reply

      • Exactly. I thought at first that some kids actually had Oct. 15 deadlines for applications, but now I’m realizing that our college counseling folks do the same thing to the students that they do to the teachers, which is to make the deadline two weeks before the official deadline. I wrote and uploaded three letters today, so yay me, but I still have nine left to go. I’ll confess that I’ve already told myself that if I have to write the last couple on Wednesday, it won’t be the end of the world, even if I get a grumpy email from college counseling.

        Best of luck to both of us!

Leave a Reply

