A river runs through it

Talking with Romola about why the first week of school was so damn exhausting, I said that I felt like a faucet with a broken handle: when I was teaching, I was just ON, all of my energy blasting out.  I’d forgotten how to regulate that outflow, and I emptied the tank, every single day this week.  By Friday I’d started to catch the rhythm of teaching again, to measure out my energy across the fifty- or ninety-minute class block, and across the day, and to direct and manage the energy coming back from the students.  But it was a rough start.  In some ways, I blame the department chair business: I probably thought less about teaching right before the semester began than in previous years, because I was so busy thinking about all that other stuff.

It was a perfectly fine week, though.  Both ABD Guy and Ph.D. Guy seemed to get going okay, as did the returning part-timer.  (I need to make sure not to overlook her as I think about supporting my faculty members.  She is a very competent, uncomplaining person and it might be easy to overlook her needs, but I’m sure she is thinking a lot about whether she wants to return full time next year and about her position within the department.)  It sounds like Ph.D. Guy is having a harder time with his history classes, but I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to help him there.

Friday night, Stubb, the Snork Maiden, and I went to a baseball game, but the Snork Maiden and I pretty much ran out of steam by the sixth inning.  Two good nights’ sleep and one nap later, and I feel almost normal again.  Hooray for one more day off!

 

One response to this post.

  1. I’ve had exactly the same experience of focusing more at the start of school on department head duties than on teaching. Finally, the day before classes started, I stayed home from campus in the morning so that I could concentrate on the classes I’d be teaching the next day. I figure that the balance between these two areas of responsibility will eventually even out, but it was an exhausting start of school!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

