Begin again

Aside from some big gaps like the last month, I’ve been blogging for just over six years, and I’m still pretty private about a lot of things.  Probably too private for this blog to be any more popular than it is, but that’s OK, I guess.  Sometimes, though, I wish I felt comfortable giving more details about myself on this blog.  Like now, for example, when I’ve been traveling for nearly four weeks, and have been in the UK and France, and seven different states (although really only spending time in five–two of them were just airports).  I can, however, tell you that the Snork Maiden is in her summer program about 1400 miles away from where I am right now, and that I miss her, but that the brief contact we’ve had suggests that she is doing just fine.  I am with Stubb, and we’re going to start driving home on Monday.

The Snork Maiden and I got to see What Now? and to have a tour of the FGS campus (from the outside, anyway, as it was a Sunday in summer and most of it was locked), which was a lot of fun.  Then I visited a friend who teaches at a different independent school and saw some of those facilities, including his classroom and what will be his new lab.

I’ve been reading books for next year and doing some bits and pieces of work, including keeping up with manuscript pages being produced by my two NLNRU advisees, but I have mostly just been taking it all in–lots of traveling around and seeing new things and talking with people.  It all feels quite restorative, actually, even though I still experience pulses of anxiety from the tasks following me around and from fleeting thoughts about the house burning down or unpaid bills on the kitchen table.  (A friend is keeping an eye on things for us, and bringing in mail and watering plants, but he isn’t there all the time.)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bardiac on July 14, 2013 at 4:17 am

    Glad to see a post again; I hope you had a lovely, wonderful trip!

    Reply

  2. It was lovely to have brunch and to meet the Snork Maiden! I’m glad she’s enjoying her summer program. Wishing you safe and pleasant travel home!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

