Smart women, foolish choices

The institution that sponsors the Thing has a Facebook page of its own.  I just visited it, feeling forlorn, and the person who posted the cryptic comment below is one of three people on my friends list who “like” the Thing.

Then I went to her page and tried to reassure myself that she “likes” a lot of things–over three hundred of them, actually.

But this is crazy-making.  I have to stop.

If I knew her a little better, I would message her and say, “That thing–is it my Thing?”  But I don’t, and I won’t.

Meanwhile, my SA colleague Natasha has also posted something cryptic, something like “everything wonderful starts out as something scary,” which makes me wonder if she is interviewing for another job.  Just before break, I heard that her daughter had decided to leave SA for high school in favor of a public school in one of the Smaller, More Affluent Districts in which some of our families live.  I know Natasha has been somewhat discontented at SA of late; she wasn’t appointed the science department chair a couple of years ago when the previous chair left, and she hasn’t always gotten along well with the new chair.  So with her daughter leaving, she’d be free to look elsewhere, if she wanted to.

Or maybe she’s just taking up capoeira or something.

I picked up our nephews Snufkin and Sniff today, from middle school and kindergarten, respectively, and Snufkin told me that he’d decided among his three top choices for high school in Massive City District.  He’ll be at a science-focused magnet fairly close to our house, which might end up being convenient sometimes–the Snork Maiden and I could pick him up pretty easily on our way home.

Did I mention that the Snork Maiden has decided to go on to high school at SA?  She has.  I’m really glad.

Now I just need to stay off Facebook.

2 responses to this post.

  1. It’s very annoying when people post cryptic things on Facebook. I always want to say, “Look, either say what you mean, or don’t say anything!”

    Good news about the Snork Maiden and SA!

    Reply

    • Posted by meansomething on April 4, 2013 at 5:02 am

      Yeah! Now I just hope she likes high school as much as I think she’s going to. She seems pretty stoked about the classes she’s planning to take and activities she’s planning to do. And she knows, through working backstage on middle school plays, what I think are some of the nicest, geekiest, nonconforming-type kids in the high school, and is already planning that they will be her tribe–which may or may not happen, of course, but at least she has a positive vision for the future.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

