It’s obvious you won’t survive by your wits alone

The first big realization of spring break, arriving on Day 6, is that I shouldn’t try to medicate my free-floating anxiety with coffee.  I probably shouldn’t try to medicate my specific anxiety with coffee, either.  Coffee: not a remedy for anxiety.  Maybe it works better within the confines of the school day, when the act of making coffee constitutes a break and a chance to chat with colleagues, and the coffee itself kicks in just as it’s time to attend to some particular task, like teaching a class, or finishing grading a batch of papers.  In the more unstructured context of spring break, however, if I get all amped up without an immediate object, I’m anxious and fretful and cannot settle down.

(I’ve been exercising more, which does help, but not enough.)

Leave a Reply

