The girl in the flammable skirt

chandler

Image: Los Angeles Times

I’m sure that at some point I have linked to Mimi Smartypants, because she is so literate and funny and interesting.  She is the blog version of “I’d listen to her read the phone book.”  (Be careful with the link, though, because it’s easy to get lost in her archives.)  Anyway, I’m lying here dabbing my nose with tissues, trying to get up the wherewithal to accomplish something before leaving for the play at SA, and reading through some of those archives, when I run across a post from 2003:

There are only five results on Google for “inflatable sandwich.”  I find this very disappointing.  Please write something online about an inflatable sandwich and help me rectify this situation.

So of course I Google “inflatable sandwich” and almost ten years later, guess what? (2.8 million results, in case the link doesn’t work.)

Oh, and we’re going to have to come up with something to replace “I’d listen to her read the phone book,” because soon no one will remember, if they ever knew, what it was like to scan a column of very similar names looking for the one you wanted.

Okay, so.  I have a couple of hours before I go to SA.  I’m going to lie here rereading a Barbara Pym novel for another half hour, then I’m going to get up and write, then I’m going to make up a rubric for the papers I have to grade tomorrow, and then I’m going to tell myself that was a perfectly acceptable Saturday afternoon and go to SA.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on March 3, 2013 at 4:42 am

    Oooooh, which Pym? I’m overdue for a dose of her myself. Reading a Janet Malcolm right now, but my last-thing-at-night reading slot makes for very slooow progress, no matter how wonderful the book. Grump.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

