The group

A few months ago, a friend invited me to join her writers’ group, which was then meeting on Mondays, my teaching night, but was scheduled to move to Wednesdays after the new year.  So I’ve been subscribed to the group’s email list for a couple of months, but it wasn’t until this week that I got to attend and actually meet about ten of the women.  (I think the total membership might be fourteen or fifteen, but it’s probably pretty unusual for everyone to make it.)

This group reads and critiques one another’s work, but it is also a support and brainstorming group.  People are working on all kinds of different projects–one woman had just had an offer from a publisher for her social science book, another spoke about some issues with the memoir she’s ghostwriting, and another read the first five pages of a short story.  The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming.

I have a good feeling about this.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Ooh, that sounds wonderful! I have tried time after time to recreate the only good writing group I ever had, which was back in grad school, and it’s just never happened. (Well, and when I say “good writing group,” I mean one in which folks are critiquing one another’s work, as opposed to an accountability group like Dame Eleanor’s.)

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on January 13, 2013 at 4:53 am

    There’s something alchemical about the right one. Not easy to find the right mix.

    Reply

  3. […] back on track with my weekly goals after two nearly useless weeks.  Went to another meeting of the writers’ group–there were fewer people this time (hey, it’s February), but we did a very good critique […]

    Reply

  4. […] mentioned that I brought my second book manuscript to the writers’ group earlier this month and got a very helpful response.  I have managed to carve out some time to […]

    Reply

  5. […]  I put in some applications for things I didn’t end up getting, and I got ready to join the writing group that I guess I’ve belonged to for two years now.  I don’t get to go every time, but I […]

    Reply

  6. […] one-day writing retreat I went on with the writers’ group (short version: it was […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

