Lying on the couch

I finished the papers, taught my last three classes, graciously received some student gifts (mostly candy that I’ll regift to people at whose homes we’re attending holiday events), made a short appearance at an alumni reception to greet former students, and boom, it’s winter break.  The Snork Maiden and I have ten days at home, four days with Stubb (two of which are travel days, though).  I’ve already read one novel (Looking for Alaska, a YA novel by John Green that has been recommended by many of my students) and one nonfiction book (The Gift of Therapy by Irvin Yalom, who has written so many interesting books on psychotherapy).  I’ve run few errands, worked out once, and had two festive lunches: one at Le Pain Quotidien with Dr. Tea and a mutual former student, one with an NLNRU colleague at a little French restaurant where I had a perfect omelette.

So I’m having a pretty good time so far.  I have some projects to work on–things for spring semester, submissions, and one application due by the end of the month–but also coming up in the next couple of days are a sleepover with the Snork Maiden’s cousins, haircuts for the Snork Maiden and me, and a couple of low-key parties with friends.  As I said, having a pretty good time.  (I even had yesterday afternoon all to myself when the SM was at a friend’s.  Need to try to get a bit more of solo time during the break if I can.)

3 responses to this post.

  1. Wishing you a wonderful and restorative winter break! We just started ours today. I have a set of 30 sophomore essays to grade in the next couple of days, but otherwise it will be all R&R all the time (or at least that’s the plan).

    Reply

  2. Posted by Pym Fan on December 22, 2012 at 4:40 am

    It sounds lovely. And well deserved! Here’s to recreational reading…

    Reply

  3. […] 2012 I had a bunch of disappointing papers to grade right before the break, some time to lie around and read, and generally have a good time before the Snork Maiden and I headed out to visit Stubb on the road […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

