The elephant vanishes

Prepped and taught three classes, met with colleagues, long talk with a student, but I haven’t graded any papers yet today.  Yet my total to grade by Wednesday has gone down by three, to 55, because three of my students will be missing from their final classes.  All of them are leaving early for vacation, and at least one of them professed herself very annoyed that her parents hadn’t bothered to tell her she was leaving early.  As a parent, I’d say that there’s at least a possibility that her parents did tell her but she didn’t listen or remember, but I can kinda believe that they really didn’t.

My seniors meet for the last time tomorrow, and one of my junior classes also meets, but will meet again on Wednesday along with my other two junior classes.  So what I’m thinking is that I should grade five of my senior papers and five of my junior papers tonight, on the theory that I can grade the remaining eight junior papers in the morning before class, and the remaining eleven senior papers between 9:45 and 1:45.  The only flaw in this plan is that I will still have twenty-five papers to grade between 3 pm tomorrow and 9:45 on Wednesday, but I can do that, right?

Leave a Reply

