All that remains

The break begins at the end of school on Wednesday.  Well, actually, I’m going to take the Snork Maiden home and then come back for the alumni reception–looking forward to seeing some of the Class of 2012.

Before then, I have 58 papers to grade and 8 classes to prep and teach (some requiring very little prep, some requiring quite a bit more).  A couple of meetings, too.

With the holiday performing arts programs over, holiday festivities this week include a breakfast given by the student support staff for the faculty, the monthly faculty and staff appreciation breakfast given by the parents, a “garish holiday attire” day, and probably at least a few students giving gifts to their teachers.  My sense is that this is much more common among the freshmen and that now that I’m not teaching freshmen, there won’t be many.  Which is fine, of course.  I do hope that I will hear from the kids for whom I wrote college letters–at least four of them were applying early, I know.  (They don’t have to bring presents, but occasionally they do.)

When SA is done, I need to read and comment on my NLNRU students’ final projects, which are due today.

Then I’ll enjoy the break, hanging out with the Snork Maiden, getting some much-needed time alone, and seeing family and friends, while also giving some attention to various other projects–some end-of-year deadlines, the draft I finished in Dame Eleanor’s writing group, plans for my NLNRU spring class, and some work on SA finals, which happen in January.  A few days’ visit to Stubb will finish the break nicely.

But before that, 58 papers.

One response to this post.

  1. Grade on!

    I hope you and your family are having wonderful holidays! And best wishes for a happy new year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

