After you’ve gone

Well, it’s November, as you may be aware.  One of the stations the Snork Maiden and I listen to on our way to school has switched over from soft pop to holiday music.  I haven’t pointed this out to the Snork Maiden yet because I know she will want to listen to it all the time.

Stubb is getting ready to leave town for a gig.  He’s going to be gone longer than usual this time.  It’s good news professionally, but the length of the separation and the distance are sobering.

Did I mention that we told the Snork Maiden, who is now in eighth grade, that she could explore other options than staying at Starfleet Academy for high school?  She’s been doing a little poking around on the Internet and talking to her friends from elementary school, but she also seems to be more settled and cheerful this year than she has been.  The big thing she wishes she had that she doesn’t have is a real BFF like she had in elementary school (her friend G, who is still a good friend).  And the only schools she’s really investigating are the ones in which G and another friend, J, are interested.  Our default high school is not one of them, so if she wants to go somewhere else, she’s got to apply.  The first deadline for applying to a particular set of magnet programs is coming up fast.  We’ll see what happens.  We’ve told her that being with a friend from elementary school is not a sufficient reason for changing schools, so she’s got to come up with more compelling reasons.

She’s getting together this weekend with G and J.  I’ll be interested to see whether the subject comes up.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on November 17, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    Wow, I can’t imagine what I would have done if it had occurred to me that I had a voice in where I went to high school. (In retrospect, I think my hometown’s “alternative” high school would have been good for me; then again, I probably wasn’t mature enough at that age to profit from the opportunities there.) I wonder what the SM, capable girl that she is, will decide…

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on November 19, 2012 at 2:40 am

    Well, I have a feeling it’s not going to be a decision, exactly, but a default to staying where she is–but we’ll see what the next few months bring!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

