Quickie Friday post

I’m actually writing this late on Thursday night.  This was a lighter teaching day–a double block of AP, a few free blocks including lunch with the teacher I’m mentoring, and one world lit class.  I turned back one creative writing exercise that I did with the world lit class, so my grading is off to a start.  I went to NLNRU for a meeting this evening and managed to squeeze in a half-hour of writing on one of the projects for which I’ve set goals in Dame Eleanor’s 15-week writing group. Tomorrow is a much busier day, and unfortunately, I’ve got some things left to do–chiefly, a quiz to write, and some refreshments to prepare for a summer-reading-related celebration in my classes.

But I just had a snack, and I feel a second wind coming on–I think I can probably whack out the quiz in half an hour or so, which will make my morning much better, so I guess I’d better do that.  I’m feeling a little cranky, though, about sleep.  It really is hard to get enough when I’m waking up at 6 a.m. at the latest.

A few thoughts:

  • I’m so pleased with the way discussions are going so far in my AP classes.  One of the things I really want to focus on this year was making discussion more student-centered and student-led, more productive and less performative/show-offy.  I like the progress I’ve made so far.
  • Nice discussions this week with two seniors I had last year who asked for college recs, and with a boy I taught freshman year and have again now as a senior.  I probably won’t write him a rec–he’ll ask people he had junior year–but it was nice to hear about his college process and the school in which he’s become very interested.
  • After a year, I can say that sharing a room with Romola has been positive for both of us.  I really do like her and respect her work, and she’s become a colleague I trust and confide in.  I’m so glad it went this way.
  • Very enjoyable conversation with the colleague who is the Snork Maiden’s English teacher this year.  Feeling good about her prospects for a good year, at least academically.  Friendships continue to be complicated and difficult–she feels the lack of a really good girlfriend.  She’s still pretty good pals with a loose group of boys, several of whom are in band, which she has rejoined this year after a year off.  And the band teacher is a terrific woman–I’m really glad she’s gone back to band!

Off to knock out a quiz now.  It’s been a good week, but I expect to enjoy the hell out of this weekend.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on September 7, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    What an exhausting week, but many successes already! And I’m very impressed that you even fit in a little writing time. May your weekend include a hefty nap or two…

    Reply

  2. Sounds like a great first week! And I hope that Snork Maiden’s year continues to improve as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

