Archive for June 7th, 2012

Tears, idle tears

Attended the SA awards ceremony and realized that I’m getting to the point of familiarity with the student body that when the various prize-givers deliver their spiels about the recipient before identifying the student, as often as not I can guess whom they’re describing before the name is said.

I found the whole thing really moving and kept getting teary–I don’t know how I’m going to get through graduation!

Meanwhile, the freshmen are sort of getting on my nerves, so that helps keep me from collapsing into sobs.

In other news, I was telling my colleague who is the theater teacher about my plans to visit conference #2, and she encouraged me to ask SA for funds for travel and materials beyond what my honorarium will cover.  They’ve funded her attendance at theater and dance festivals.  I sent the form to the Good Gray Eminence and dropped him an email to let him know it was coming, and he wrote back encouragingly.  I don’t know if he’ll be up for funding the whole thing–I’ve asked for almost $800–but it is nearing the end of the fiscal year and I suspect that if there’s money left in the professional development budget, I might get some of it.

I also got word that NLNRU’s NTT faculty development fund will cover $500 of my expenses from AWP, and my program will cover the balance, so I submitted a bunch of receipts and should be getting close to $600 back soon, which I think I’ll put aside to help pay for those extra nights somewhere on my way to or from conference #2.

I really want to do Sisyphus’ summer meme, but I think I have to finish grading this big stack of papers.  Maybe I’ll work on it after we give the English exams (but before I grade ’em).