Bicycle diaries

I’ve been thinking a lot about my pal Bardiac this weekend, because this weekend has featured a lot of, in her phrase, “playing outside.”  I went for a run on Saturday (I’ve been running again, gently and following the Couch to 5k program, for the last few weeks), and I also walked to our weird, shabby little neighborhood bike shop (whose proprietor looks like a tall, wild-haired Jim Croce) to pick up the bike I’d left there for a tune-up the previous weekend.  Stubb’s mom handed it down to me a few years ago, and it’s just been hanging patiently on a hook in the garage since then.  Now it is all ready to ride, and I rode it around the neighborhood for a while today–just playing, not trying to go anywhere special, but definitely thinking about how this expands my range of places I can go under my own steam.  (We live in a suburban area that’s population-dense enough that we can walk to a couple of parks, a supermarket, some small shops, etc., but we have to get in the car to go to school and most other things. )

The weekend so far has also featured a massage, some errands, and a very nice festive dinner out with Dr. Tea and her husband and daughter.  We have a graduation party for a cousin’s daughter this afternoon, and the Snork Maiden has a birthday party, so the things I cannot put off much longer are laundry and grading.  We’re heading into the last week of classes and the start of exams.

One of my colleagues pointed out to me that I could ask for some funding from SA for travel to the second conference.  She’s right–it just didn’t occur to me before.  So I need to do that this week, and also submit some other reimbursement paperwork before the school year ends.  On the docket as well: end-of-year conversations and decisions about some of next year’s activities; work for the first conference; a couple of afternoons’ worth of meetings and administrivia at NLNRU.  Oh!  and finalizing my SA exam.  Ha.  Almost forgot about that one.

2 responses to this post.

  1. For me, a lot of the fun of biking comes from regaining the sense of total freedom of being a 12 year old on a bike. 🙂 It’s just so fun!

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on June 7, 2012 at 2:52 am

    Yes, I totally get that. My actual 12-year-old keeps borrowing it (she’s outgrown her old one, and something is wonky with its steering), but we’re planning to get her a new one very soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

