Summer and smoke

Oh, and I am in a major dither about my summer plans.  There is a sort of urgent but nonspecific vibe around NLNRU (my administrative stipend, and my  responsibilities, extend through the summer); there is my annual conference, which is pretty fixed.  There is that promise I made to myself to take time away.  None of the residencies panned out, but I did wangle an invitation to go back to the conference I attended in 2007 for a few days, which means a trip to be planned around that, and a few days stuck on before and after for writing time alone.  I’m actually leaning toward flying into my old hometown (where I rarely go now that my mother lives here), visiting aunts, and then making my way to conference #2 via the humid, grimy city in which I (and PymFan and FLS) all attended college, on the theory that it will be kind of familiar and very evocative.  OK, it’s not a cottage in the woods, but it’s something.

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. You need a stopover in the midwest!!! /nod

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on June 1, 2012 at 4:45 am

    I was actually considering a cross-country roadtrip, but I don’t think it’s going to work this year. I would love to come and see you.

    Reply

  3. That would be so fun 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

