A confession

Usually fairly slow to pick up linguistic innovations, I have started saying “I know, right?” and I cannot stop.  I really like it, even as I am painfully aware that many people experience it as a stale little mannerism.  The fourth commenter down on that post, “amanda,” puts her finger on what I enjoy about it–its tone of amusement at a trivial but true observation.  The tone is so fixed and reliable that carries over nicely to the abbreviation IKR, much as the tone of OMG does.  I would like not to hear it coming out of my mouth quite so much, but I can’t lie about my fondness for it.

A few other things, too.  My friend MW sometimes says “True confession:” (yes, the colon is part of the expression, except when it’s “True confession?”).  So, true confession: I didn’t go to any panels at AWP except for the one I spoke on, and I didn’t go to any readings except for the one by Carol Ann Duffy and Philip Levine.

Big excitement: after one year of sending out work from the new book, I finally got a magazine acceptance.  And it’s one I’m really happy about, for a magazine with a circulation in the tens of thousands, where I’ve read a lot of work I’ve admired.

I know, right?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Congrats on the good news about your poem! You know, right? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on March 17, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    Thank you! I will give you a heads-up when it comes out.

    Reply

  3. That’s exciting news — congratulations!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

