Tradition

This is my annual getting-ready-to-leave-for-AWP post.  I’m pretty sure there have been others.  If not, it’s the start of a new tradition.

I woke up at 4 this morning to finish grading a batch of papers, went to SA and taught and graded all day.  I came home from SA about 7 (attended a dress rehearsal of the play I’m going to miss seeing this weekend) and wiped out on the couch for a while.  The Snork Maiden roused me to tuck her into bed.  Now I’m awake, but my goal is to spend half an hour packing (or less) and then go to bed.   and I know I’m going to want to get up at 5 tomorrow to put the finishing touches on my prep for tomorrow and my substitute plans.

As usual, I’m thinking I could happily skip it this year, but I’m pretty sure I’ll have fun.  MW got snowed in last year and didn’t get to D.C.; this year I hope we’ll both make it and get to have some catching-up time together.  I’ve agreed to represent NLNRU on a panel (a last-minute change when someone else couldn’t swing it), but other than that and taking my turns occupying our table, I have very little planned, which sounds very good to me right now.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on March 1, 2012 at 3:37 am

    I hope you have a great time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

