Grape & grain

I’ve never been much of a drinker, but the past few years, I’ve come to appreciate the assistance in winding down that a nice glass of wine or whiskey can provide.  I did eventually get to sleep last night, and I’m planning to hit the hay fairly soon tonight–but I was at NLNRU again this evening reading applications, and then meeting about fellowship offers.  We had birthday cake for our chair but not anything you would call dinner, so when I came home it was snacks and cracking open the one-large-glass serving-size pinot grigio I bought at the drugstore a few weeks ago (yeah, right behind the lady with the giant plastic bottle of no-name vodka)–and now I’m admiring the rosy glow that seems to have settled over everything.

Tomorrow is my light teaching day at SA, just one big double block in the morning, and then the rest of the morning for prepping and recordkeeping and a lovely relaxed lunch punctuated by a yearbook photo for one of the clubs I help advise.  I’m also meeting with Dr. Tea for a discussion of submitting work to magazines, and in the afternoon I’ll read through a slew of promotion documents for a committee I’m serving on at NLNRU.  Finally, a phone conference with said committee and heading down to an NLNRU reading.

In the end it will probably be about as busy as any other day in the week, except that I’ll only be teaching and “on” full blast for about an hour and a half, so I’ll have a splendid autonomy over most of the day.  I can eat or pee whenever I want to!

Leave a Reply

