Winding down

Back from class, and still awake.  My NLNRU class is on Wednesdays this semester.  It’s been on Thursdays for the last couple of semesters, and I thought I wanted a change.  By Thursday, I’m tired.  I get up at 5:45 most mornings–earlier if I have work or writing to do before school–and it’s hard to get into bed early enough for an eight-hour stretch on weeknights.  On Mondays, though, I’m still pretty fresh–I’ve got the weekend behind me, after all.  And if I can flog myself into bed early on Tuesday, I have a chance of finishing out the week reasonably well rested.

So this semester, we scheduled my class for Mondays.

And yet it’s on Wednesdays.  How did this happen?  Well, about three months ago, as students were preregistering for the spring, one course looked to be in danger of not filling.  We particularly wanted to be able to run this class, and one problem seemed to be that it was on Mondays, directly opposite the course I’m teaching.  But my class hadn’t started preregistration yet, since it’s for people in the first year of the program, and they preregister last.  We thought–and I was on board with this–that if we moved my class, the people already in the endangered class could stay in it, and some of my students could register for it as well.

You see where this is going, right?  The course still didn’t fill, and was canceled.  My class filled just fine.  And is on Wednesdays.

I have to admit that Wednesdays are a little better than Thursdays.  I am less fatigued–not as fresh as I’d be on Mondays, sure, but still better after three days of SA teaching than four.

Also, the NLNRU campus is calmer and quieter on Wednesday evenings when we get out of class–much less drinking and partying going on, more students going to and from libraries.

And on Thursday evening, instead of going to class, I’m going to bed early after doing the minimum necessary to prepare for Friday.

So it’s better than it has been, just not as good as I thought it was going to be.  In the fall, however, we are scheduled for Mondays.  Hooray.  And I’m not going to switch it.  I’m fabulous, remember?  And I deserve to have the class on the night I want to teach it.

Meanwhile, the Year of Being Fabulous is going okay.  I finished collecting rejections from 2011, and now I’m gearing up for a fabulous series of submissions.  Stubb has been working out of town more, but now that’s coming to an end (for now) and he should be around again so that I can get more chunks of time for writing and submitting.

One effect of the year’s theme is that I am being more protective of my time and energy.  I am doing better with “not my problem” and “now is time for me to take a break.”  It’s a small shift, but I can feel it, and that’s what counts.

It looks like we’re going to be able to rearrange teaching assignments at SA so that I will move to teaching mostly juniors, which seems like a good plan.  I’ll miss the freshmen, but this will get me out of the freshman year before the Snork Maiden turns up in the high school, and last year’s fantastic freshman class will be next year’s juniors, so I get to teach a bunch of them again.

Now if I could only wind down enough to go to sleep!

Leave a Reply

