Rocky mountain high

Happy new year!  I’ve been reading all my favorite bloggers’ reflections on 2011 and hopes and plans for 2012.  I have some of both, but I can’t sit in front of the computer for very long because just as I was getting up from kneeling over the suitcase I was packing for our Denver trip, I got a sudden flare-up of back/buttock pain that I think might be from my sacroiliac joint.  It’s better now, though still a bother; I’ll see how the next couple of days go, and if it’s not definitely improving now that we’re home, I’ll go to the doctor this week.

The Denver trip was fun anyway–I am so glad we made another winter break getaway, and I’m increasingly convinced that this needs to be an annual tradition.  Summers, as I observed a few months ago, are pretty cluttered around here.  The last two weeks of December, though, are quiet and slow and seem to be a good time to escape.  Last year, the effects of the complete change of the New Mexico trip–doing and seeing new things, reconnecting with people we don’t see enough, eating different food–lasted well into the new semester.  It still brings me pleasure to wear the bracelet and gloves I got on that trip and to think about the day and the place I bought them.

On this trip, we poked around Denver, made a day trip to Boulder and another to Winter Park, visited with a high-school friend of mine and his family, and spent a lot of time just hanging out with my aunt and cousin–watched a movie (Noises Off), played Pictionary and Scrabble, cooked (my aunt and the Snork Maiden made mini lemon souffles).  I think if I were fine-tuning the experience, I’d add in a day or two for the three of us to go off and have an adventure on our own, too, but for this trip I don’t think I would have wanted to give up any of the days we had.

I also had time to think about the year behind and the year ahead.  More on those during my next session of sitting!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Happy New Year!

    The trip sounds lovely! Maybe someday you could come to flyover country? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on January 1, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    I’d love to–but maybe in the spring or fall? 🙂

    Reply

  3. Yes! Mid-winter probably isn’t the best time for any of us 🙂

    Reply

  4. […] in 2011, and I liked that. I worked into the first few days of break to clear the decks for our Denver trip, which was fun despite a back/butt pain problem that might have been the first appearance of the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

