A short history of nearly everything

2011 was a pretty solid year.  I’d do it again.  Looking back, it feels like most of the molecules were flowing in the right direction, you know?  I did a lot of pretty good teaching.  I completed a draft of my second book.  I managed the SA/NLNRU balance better the second year.  I did the best I could to support the Snork Maiden as she changed schools to SA for middle school, and while I think I made some mistakes in that process, she did make the transition and she learned and grew from it.  In the second half of the year, I made some positive changes to my eating habits, kept to them 90% of the time, and gradually shed ten pounds over six months.  Some good things happened to make me happy–my mother moved across the country to live near my sister and me, we had a spring break trip to New York–and relatively few bad things happened to make me sad.

The big thing I would change about the past year, if I could, is more and better work for Stubb.  He kept busy, he got some paychecks (including a good royalty payout), he did work he cared about, but there was a lot of frustration for him this year.  He didn’t work out of town, although he did have a couple of long-commute gigs.  His staying close to home was helpful to the Snork Maiden and me, especially as she dealt with her first year at SA, but I know he missed going away.

Writing that paragraph made me stop and ask myself, hey, what about you?  Didn’t you have a lot of frustration with publishing this year?  Ten magazine rejections, no bites on the second book yet?  Wouldn’t you go back and change that if you could?

Hm.  I guess not.  What I think as I look back is:

  • I FINISHED THE BOOK!

and

  • I started the process of getting it published.  Ten months and ten rejections is not much time or many rejections, really.  I am still revising some.
  • Even though it took me a long time to get my first book out, it was a little sad and strange to let go of it.  I’d seen friends go through this, so I’d thought about it a lot, but I think it’s different for everyone.  For me, it was partly the sadness of finishing, having it over; partly the strangeness of having something so private and meaningful to me become public, launched into the world (even if into relative obscurity); partly the process of accepting that it was the best I could do at the time, however flawed.  I do love having a book out–it’s much better than having an unpublished manuscript for years!  Still, I guess what I’m saying is that there are some okay aspects to a long path to publication.

And in 2012?  I do have a big resolution, and it does have to do with the book, or rather the book comes under its rubric.  I have to get up and move around now, though, so the resolution revelation will have to wait for the next post.

2 responses to this post.

  1. A hearty congratulations on finishing the manuscript, as well as on the other good stuff of 2011. Here’s wishing you a wonderful 2012!

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on January 2, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    Thanks, and same back atcha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

