The law of nines

Seems like there are times when I have a lot to do, but I blog; times when I have too much to do to blog; and times when I have so horrifyingly much to do that I have to blog just to collect the fortitude to do it all.

This is the latter.  End of quarter grades, end of quarter comments, college recommendation letters, work to comment on from NLNRU students, arrangements to make for next semester at NLNRU (advisees, directing internships, book orders).  Registering for AWP (will take fifteen minutes but have to do it as deadline is tomorrow).  Submitting the book ms.  Prepping for the classes that are still going on despite it all.  SA’s block schedule deposited my most difficult day of the cycle on Monday this week.  (Difficult = All my classes meet, one of them for a double block.  It could be worse, though; I don’t have a meeting at lunch, and there’s a mid-morning assembly I can and will skip because of the college recs. )

So naturally this was the weekend when I had agreed to participate in an NLNRU reading at a local bookstore with some of our students, and also to turn up and be one of the speakers at an SA event.  These were both nice occasions, and I think I acquitted myself well at both, so I’m glad I did them.  The timing was not, however, ideal.

Other than the fact of being in the middle of a crunch, all is well, and I’m glad for that.  It’s been a compressed term at SA because of the late start, but it’s felt like a good one.  My classes are going fine, some days better than fine.  My NLNRU class has been a bumpy ride this semester, but I think we’re in a better place now.  The Snork Maiden looks far more settled this year.  Stubb is busy and cheerful.

All I have to do is a huge amount of work.  But that, fortunately, I know how to do.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds oppressively hectic! Best of luck to you in keeping your head above water through the end of the term (and after that as well, of course).

    This fall our college counseling office instituted a new system whereby we had to submit all of our college rec letters to them by October 15 — which, naturally, happened to fall right in between the deadline for midterm reports and the insanity of Parents’ Weekend. Those two weeks were pretty much hell on wheels … but at least now Nov. 1 holds no fear for me, whereas it used to be the first of the college deadlines. So the craziness just moved earlier in the term; I guess the moral of this story is that there’s just no avoiding a few insanely hectic times of the year.

    Hang in there.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Pym Fan on October 31, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    Whoa, no relaxing weekend after all… I hope your actual teaching week is more fun than all that admin stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

